A (Not So) Brief Update – 4

Hello, everyone! I hope you’re all having a good summer so far. Just thought I’d check in with a quick update and talk about some stuff that I’ve been doing on the blog here and elsewhere. Firstly, I’m going to start opening up these update posts with a changelog so you can see what’s new on the blog. After that I’ll get down to the nitty gritty and talk about the rest of whatever it is I was going to talk about.

The Table of Starry Wisdom – Changelog – 7.1.17

  • The header image for the blog has been set to change randomly whenever you reload a page or go to a new page. Fancy, I know.
  • A few new artists and albums have been added to the “Ambient Music” page.
  • Added downloadable rulebooks to the “My Collection” page.
  • The newest games available in the “Print and Play Archive” are The Draugr, A Night in Deepwail Manor, Sub Terra, and Wolven.
  • The release lists for various games have all been merged onto the “Release Lists” page.
  • Added the “RPG Archive” page. This page has files for several free, tabletop RPGs that you can download, share, and play with your gaming groups. Currently, there are files for Cthulhu Dark, Dungeons & Dragons, Eclipse Phase, and Risus.
  • Added the “Video Games for Boardgamers” page. This page is a collection of games that I think are great and that everyone should play if they have a chance to. Links to their individual pages in the Steam Store can be found by clicking on their respective pictures.
  • Added the “Wargames Rules Archive” page. This page contains rule sets for popular wargames that are available for free from their respective creators. Currently, there are rules available for Hordes, Infinity, Malifaux, Rune Wars, Star Wars – X-Wing, Star Wars – Armada, Warhammer 40,000, Warhammer – Age of Sigmar, and Warmachine.

And now I’ll take a minute to talk about all of this gibberish…

As I mentioned back in A Brief Update – 3, I have begun to include rulebooks in the “My Collection” page. This change is mostly for me as, if I want to show the rule set of a particular game to a friend, I can pull it up with minimal effort. However, this also lets visitors to the blog here check out the rules for a certain game if they desire to do so.

I’ve been trying to added new PnP games to the Print and Play Archive every week (I typically do this on Saturdays). I don’t remember when the last time was that I actually announced I’d updated it was, but I’ve amassed a respectable, small collection of PnP games that anyone can download and put together. Currently there are 13 games available for download.

With the creation of my auxiliary blog The Shining Trapezohedron, I was inspired to make some changes on here. The biggest change was to my release lists for various games. I merged them all onto one page and reformatted them. I think it’s a lot cleaner looking now and they aren’t taking up so much space in my menu bar which saves on word clutter.

You may have noticed (if not from your own perusal of the blog here than from the changelog above) that I’ve added two new pages to the blog. I now have pages for tabletop RPG components and rule sets for various tabletop wargames. The RPG page will house more obscure products than the wargame one will as I plan on only hosting rule sets for more popular and well known wargames. However, both pages are quite new and I’ll be working on expanding them and making them better in the coming weeks and months. As it stands now there are four RPGs you can get your hands on and rule sets for nine different wargames.

The Video Games for Boardgamers page is a bit of an anomaly on a blog about tabletop gaming, but it’s here for a reason. Some of you may have seen my old blog Kolkrabba, which was about video games and pc gaming. Well, I’ve mostly lost interest in keeping up with it for the time being (and, in fact, have hidden it from public view while I decide what its fate is going to be going forward), but I’m still incredibly fond of video games and play them when I can. This new page is just a list of my recommendations for video games that I think are great and feel confident in recommending to other games.

Once again, I feel I should apologize for the lack of content going up lately. I’ve been distracted by a myriad of things. I’ve been working on my other blogs (The Shining Trapezohedron and YamawaroYamawaro is mainly about sumo, so if that’s your bag you should check it out.), but I’ve also been on a serious video game kick lately. The Crimson Court DLC for Darkest Dungeon released on Steam, then I snagged Hollow Knight and Stardew Valley on the Summer Sale, which was followed by the release of the Rise of the Necromancer DLC for Diablo 3, and then the Chains of Harrow update for Warfarme, and, on top of it all, my fiancée have been playing a lot of Don’t Starve Together. I’ll try to put stuff up a bit more regularly, but I can’t make any promises as we’re also in the middle of a binge re-watch of Game of Thrones before season seven starts on the 16th. That being said, I’ll still keeping posting my This Week on Kickstarter posts as usual so there’s at least something going on on here. I still have some posts I’d like to get up about Medabots, and my mint tin Onitama project, and some new reviews. Now I just need to make the time to write them all up and get them on here.

If you have any suggestions for/about something you’d like to see here on the blog, I’d love to hear from you. Just leave me a comment on this post and I’ll try to respond in a timely fashion and see if it’s something I can do. Comment notifications come to my personal e-mail, so you shouldn’t (usually) have to wait very long for a response from me. If you know me personally, it would probably just be faster to e-mail, text, or message me on Facebook though.

Sorry for the wall of text that this “brief” update turned into, but thanks for taking the time to read it all if you made it down this far into the post. You guys are the best.

Leave a Reply

