The Lord of the Rings: Combat Hex Tradeable Miniatures Game

With easily the longest post title I’ve ever written in my entire time as a blogger, I am here today to showcase some minis that I rediscovered while visiting my parents a couple weekends ago.

These minis belong to The Lord of the Rings: Combat Hex Tradeable Miniatures Game; a now defunct tabletop miniatures wargame from Sabertooth Games. From what I can tell, the game was only ever published in 2003 and, despite this, it’s not particularly hard to acquire secondhand from websites such as eBay. Components and minis are not very expensive (as far as collecting goes if you’ve got a mind to do that). Let’s take a look at the minis that I have (and pardon the dust, please):

Is that mini of Frodo wearing the One Ring the biggest bullshit cop out or what? It’s pretty great. Some of them really aren’t bad sculpts and, for the most part (if you exclude the faces), the paint jobs are not bad. I also happened to find the rule set and a double-sided hex grid map included with the minis so, at some point, I’ll have to play around with it and see if it was any good. Judging by the fact it was only published in 2003 and then never again, my hopes aren’t exactly high.

(I just noticed two minis, namely Lurtz and the Orc Warrior, are missing from the above pictures. I don’t know what happened, but something must’ve gone wrong when I downloaded them all from my Google Drive. I’ll include them in the next post about this game.)

Leave a Reply

