State of the Table – 3 – 11.12.17

The Table of Starry Wisdom – Changelog – 11.12.17

  • Added Ruiner to the Soundtracks section of the “Ambient Music” page.
  • Added Cities in Ruin (Eldritch Horror Expansion), Godforsaken Scavengers, Kokoro: Avenue of the Kodama, 10+ entries for The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, and It’s Your Fault (Smash Up Expansion) to the “My Collection” page.
  • Removed rulebooks from “My Collection” page.
  • Added The Thing to the “Print and Play Archive” page. 
  • Added The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game to the “Release Lists” page.
  • Reformatted the “Release Lists” page.
  • Added Conan and Hulks and Horrors to the “RPG Archive” page.
  • Added “SPAIA” page.
  • Added SPAIA rule set for Smash Up to “SPAIA” page.
  • Added placeholder for Star Wars: Legions to “Wargame Rules Archive” page.

Well, everything in the changelog represents what I’ve been up to on here for the past couple of weeks. As you can see, there are quite a few additions and changes on the blog and even some removals. Let’s take a moment to talk through all of the more major points of the changelog.

You may notice the “10+ entries” to The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. You may also remember that I stated late last year/early this year that I was switching over to Arkham Horror: The Card Game as my LCG of choice. Well, that hasn’t changed. I am, in fact, in the process of selling off my physical collection of The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game in favor of the more conveient and economical choice of playing it on OCTGN where I have access to all of the cards in digital form. For those of you who don’t know what OCTGN is, I may do a post about it in the future, but I may not. We’ll see. Either way, I’d recommend you give it a look if you’ve been contemplating whether or not you should get into an LCG.

I have removed the rulebooks from the “My Collection” page as they were taking up a lot of my storage space for the blog and it was storage space that I could use elsewhere for better things.

The biggest addition (in my opinion) is the “SPAIA” page. For those of you who missed my “Introducing SPAIA” post from yesterday, SPAIA stands for “Solo-Play AI Automation” and is my attempt at making multiplayer games playable for a solo player against an automated AI that can easily be run by a single person. So far, I only have a SPAIA rule set up for Smash Up, but I’ll be working on one for Tsuro of the Seas in the coming days and have that up when it’s ready. And, of course, I’ll occasionally revisit my old SPAIA rule sets and see if I can’t update them or make them better.

And that’s all the big news. The Mice and Mystics weekly play is still going and I’m still toying with the idea of turning a Mice and Mystics campaign into a serial post, but I haven’t made any significant decisions on the matter as of yet. I have, thus far, failed at playing and reviewing Ghost Stories or any other game I mentioned around Halloween. Apologies. That’s just the way the cookie crumbled. The next game that I’m likely to review is Deep Space D-6, which you can find in the “Print and Play Archive” page and play yourself.

I’m slowly working my way through the list of unplayed games in my collection. Tsuro of the Seas was a step in the right direction, but with two Kickstarter games showing up this week and more on the way through the end of the year, the number of games I need to play is steadily rising. Preference will, of course, be given to those games that I can easily play solo.

That’s all I’ve got for you this month (by the way, these “State of the Table” posts are a thing that I’m hoping to keep on a monthly basis). As always, if you have any suggestions for/about something you’d like to see here on the blog, I’d love to hear from you. Just leave me a comment on this post and I’ll try to respond in a timely fashion and see if it’s something I can do. Comment notifications come to my personal e-mail, so you shouldn’t (usually) have to wait very long for a response from me. If you know me personally, it would probably just be faster to e-mail, text, or message me on Facebook though.

Additionally, if you have any questions/suggestions about one of my SPAIA rule sets, don’t hesitate to get in touch with me and we’ll talk about it. See you all next month.

May His Passing Cleanse the Earth

Leave a Reply

